To all the immigrants in Sweden…

I love you!

I absolutely love that you have ended up in my imperfect, privileged country!

I love that when I take a walk through town I don’t just see a bunch of light skin blondies but a colorful serenade of people.

 I love that I can hear a mix of at least 5 languages being spoken when I ride the local bus. 

I love that in my store there isn’t just köttbullar and potatoes to buy but tacos, sushi, arabic bread and international spices. 

I love that when I am at work I get the chance to speak a mix of all the five languages I know. Every single day. 

 I love that my church has welcomed so many internationals that we now have a translation service for everyone to understand. 

I love to exchange cultural information and traditions. Sure it does get awkward, a LOT of times. But the good moments just overcomes all the misunderstandings. The actual moments when we DO understand each other and manage to share life are just so much more beautiful than anything else.

 Of course there are problems!

With so many cultures in one country, there are bound to be problems. We have swedes fighting with swedes for heavens sake, so of course there are misunderstandings and culture clashes that leads to sadness and hatred. There are people who just can’t handle it; swedes and immigrants. People who manage to turn this incredible beauty into ugliness and refuses to open up and change. They exist. On both sides.

Let’s not be naive. We must all be cautious, protective and beware.

But not of each other. Beware of hatred. Of hostility. Of disillusion of reality. Of fear, fear creates hatred. 

Dear immigrants of Sweden. Please don’t listen to hate. 

 I love you.

(Ps. If the reason for you leaving your country is war or exile, it is nothing that I love. Don’t get me wrong. NOBODY should have to live through that! I just feel privileged that our country is where you found a new home.. And I welcome you with all my being!)

Leave a comment