My thing!

We all have our thing!

I mean, admit it, there is something out there that makes everybody tick. That makes you tick. Something that, when you’re in the middle of it, sets your heart on fire. When you practise it.. It can not be compared to anything else in the whole world.

Your specialty. Your passion. Your thing.

I, for one, know that I have found my thing.

It is something that is so beautiful and strong, that when I practice it, it makes my heart fly. It makes my body tingle and give my spirit so much joy I could just stay there forever.

Tonight was one of those special nights where I had the chance to experience my thing fully at work. I realize it now and then that I really AM privileged in many ways. Having a job that from time to time sends my heart to the clouds, leaving me with a feeling of love and endless gratefulness when i walk home in the snowfall. Sorry, hover home in the snowfall. Of happiness.

So what happened tonight?

Well, nothing more unusual than the fact that it was a pretty calm eve at my youth center. Calm and pleasant. This gave me the opportunity to take some extra time to dedicate my attention to a small number of immigrant visitors. Three absolutely adorable guys with different nationalities, that have fled to our lovely country, from their homelands. Homelands that have been torn to pieces. Three boys that, in despite of their experiences, are the most humble and grateful creatures. Smiling, polite and lovely. Eager to learn, longing to be a part of the community where they now have settled down. Striving to do anything to feel like home.

Just thinking about them sends a shiver along my spine. Thinking about the unimaginable things they have seen and lived through. Leaving everything, still coming out on the other side with this incredible humbleness for life and other people. Goose bumps all the way.

So, being able to give them my time during a couple of hours. Speaking a mix of the languages we have in common, while striving to understand each other. Honestly. Longingly. Sharingly. Givingly. Such joy! Such a meaningful use of my time.

They teach me about life!

They teach me about me and my perception and view of life. They teach me about humbleness and every single smile from them warms my heart. Makes me want to give back. And I do. With time, smiles, caring and love.

My thing. I realize now that I write this that I do have many things. But I figured that all of them are combined in this kind of situations. Every time it happens, my heart jumps.

I am not quite sure if it’s the languages, the cultures, the openness, the new discoveries on myself, the discoveries on others, the meetings with amazing personalities or the humbleness that makes me tick the most. All of these things go together in a wonderful experience, full of lessons, mysteries and endless joy.

This is my thing!

It doesn’t matter if it is occurring in the place where i was born, in the place where I currently live, on a journey or on a longer staying abroad.

Dedicating myself to people with other cultures, languages, wisdom, beauties, life experiences and perspectives. It is in my blood to give away what I have to the purpose of uniting, meeting, greeting, sharing and most importantly, understanding all that is new, different, exciting and endlessly infatuating.

It’s in my blood. It is my gift. It is my passion, my one and only way of living and the absolute and infinite goal in my life.

It is my thing!

And there.. Thinking of it.. My heart just took another big indescribable, grateful, humbe and exciting jump!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment