The change

And all of a sudden everything changes!

I’m sitting on my parents porch an early summer evening, doing my thing, writing, surfing the net. The sun has been shining for a while after a grey hour.

Then, in a second I can feel the air changing. The wind takes hold of the tree tops of the oaks in my neighbors’ garden and starts clenching on the marquis that I’m sitting under. It’s rough so I have to shorten it a bit and pull it towards the house. The sky is darkening as the clouds gathers and the sun is reversing back up towards space.

Then it manifests!

The low pitch, powerful, rumbling that appears as the sound of thunder.

It’s angry. It’s screaming to the whole neighborhood to watch out, get inside their houses and do anything BUT stand in the way of this mighty force that WILL do as it pleases.

I sit still.

No actually, first I’m saving everything that needs to be saved. Cover the computer and my notes, shorten the marquis, pull in the chairs.

THEN, I sit still. I sit and watch.

The flashes. Counting on the kilometers where it’s at.

The powerful bangs that comes in waves echoing for miles and miles.

The floods of rain that are pouring down from an open sky, right above my head.

I sit and watch the majestic power struggle going on in the grand space up there.

The power of the heavens is one of the wonders that makes me feel really small and puts me into place as a human being.

Small, feckless, but not insignificant. No. The power of the heavens, with the wind, thunder and the pouring rain is one of the things that make me feel more alive than anything else.

Alive, important, living, breathing, blessed, grateful.

To experience the power of something that I have no, whatsoever, influence on and can not change in any way, does put me in my place.

I am, in fact, a human being with limited powers, a small human being. But I DO have the capability of rejoicing in the divine forces of this earth.

That’s why I sit, watch and listen.

And after a while, the storm is over and the sun comes out again..

20140731-200508-72308720.jpg

20140731-200641-72401296.jpg

20140731-200716-72436714.jpg

Leave a comment